Relieve the school days: Assembly Coffee brunch // NJC Funtasia 2014

I shall blogged about yesterday since it’s still very fresh in my mind. The plan yesterday was to go to NJC Carnival with Alicia since her bro is studying in the school. I missed AC’s because we were all the way in Changi eating at Chock Full of Beans and was quite disappointed since I’ve never missed any. Anyways when Ali mentioned her bro’s school got carnival, totally have to check that out!! I didn’t know it was Funtasia, I actually went once before but I cannot remember when, I think it was 2007. I love school carnivals, they make me feel like a student all over again and it’s been 5 years since we all last wore school uniforms.

Before that, we went to have brunch! The initial plan was riders’ cafe but it’s really inaccessible without car so we scrapped that. Then Ali said to try Hatched, since there was a branch near NJC. But then when I googled, I realised the highly raved Assembly Coffee is just beside it and I’ve seen alot of instagram photos of its waffles.

The nearest MRT station is Botanic Gardens but it’s actually quite a long walk in and it was drizzling, we made a wrong turning and ended up cutting through MOE campus.

20140413-173742.jpg

Address: 26 Evans Road (Evans Lodge) Opening hours: 8am – 7pm (everyday except Mondays)

20140413-173822.jpg

There was a large commmunal table which can seat about 12 people, 3-4 tables for 3 and 5 tables for 2. The area is quite cramped actually. We were shown to the communal table and we thought that either the tables were too low or the chairs were too high, which really made sitting uncomfortable. Luckily we saw a table for 2 empty, we went to change to that! YAY. Free flow of water available.

Initially we thought there was a brunch menu, however after looking at the menu, there were only three items that’s more for brunch. There’s no eggs benny 😦 so we got 2 coffees, 1 waffles and 1 croissant.

20140413-174334.jpg

20140413-174325.jpg

Alicia got a cappuccino ($4.5) and I got a caffe latte ($4.5)! #foreverdrinkinglatte. The coffee were actually quite good, but then again I’m no coffee connoisseur so probably I can’t really tell whether the coffee is a notch better or not. But we definitely can tell bad coffee and this is not a bad coffee!

20140413-173749.jpg

Cappuccino and caffe latte

Earl grey caramel waffles ($11.50) seems to be rather unique so we opted for that over the salted caramel one. I’ve tried waffles from Hatter Street and Department of Caffeine, and I think the one at Assembly Coffee is probably one of the better ones. Even though Hatter’s waffles were priced at $8.90, however it was smaller in size and not as thick. DOC’s were pricier at $14 and it’s pretty much the same as Assembly Coffee’s. The earl grey taste was very subtle though, not as strong as I thought it would be. We like that the waffles were thick and crispy. Definitely must try the waffles!!

20140413-173800.jpg

Earl grey caramel buttermilk waffles

We ordered scrambled eggs croissant ($13.90) since there was the option of ham or smoked salmon and we grew to love smoked salmon ever since the brunch at Prive and had been giving smoked salmon every chance there is. However this was very disappointing. We expected the salmon to be smoked, but it came to us more raw than it was smoked. We couldn’t really bring ourselves to finish it but I did because I had such a big piece initially and almost choked on it. Ali didn’t finish hers though… After this experience, we are saying no to brunch for now. As much as we love smoked salmon, raw salmon just doesn’t sit with us. However if you like raw salmon, maybe this would be a good option for you! The croissant was quite crispy and scrambled eggs were in abundance.

20140413-173812.jpg

Scrambled eggs croissant

Then off we went to NJC at around 1pm! It’s been many years since I last stepped into this school… Just makes me think back about the good old JC days. Initially we thought there wasn’t much crowd, but we were wrong. It’s quite happening!

20140413-173830.jpg

20140413-173838.jpg

$20 tickets!

The experience of a carnival was truly gratifying. It just brings back many wonderful memories. Since most of the games were either $4 or $6, we played 2 of each kind. There’s nothing to be won except for stickers, depending on how many points you get or the booth’s rules. Then take the sticker card and go to the a booth at the canteen there to change for some prizes like tidbits, snacks, candles, watch etc. I think 20 stickers you can get a watch. But anyway we got around 14 stickers but we went to change too late and so we only managed to change it for 6 packets of tidbits and the second time we went, nothing left!! BOOHOO. We played the basketball game, the chopsticks game (Ali’s bro’s booth), using a water spray to push a toy car, and some pokemon tin can game. Didn’t buy any food or souvenirs. There was this charms booth which I was very interested in but they weren’t taking orders anymore 😦 now I feel like making some of my own.

We went to the dunking booth, also by Alicia’s bro’s, but his CCA booth. They were dunking the sc prez for $50 I think. Rather interesting. What if no one paid ah!? Lol it will be damn embarrassing. Anyway they managed to collect $50 but the whole process was very long because no one could aim the ball properly at the dunking machine such that the person will fall into the tank. It was all very good fun though. I feel like a student!!

20140413-173959.jpg

Anyway it was an enjoyable Saturday! It’s Monday tomorrow but 4 day week yeah! And long weekend but working at an event with Alicia on Sunday! First time working with friends at an event! Cool man. Too bad cannot see yk in his bunny costume. HEHE.

Leave a comment